Install within Plesk

Hi everyone,

I would really like to use Wekan but so far I have miserably failed to get it to run.

I have a vServer with Plesk running to administrate any websites/apps running on the server and I thought it would be easy to use the docker extension in Plesk to run Wekan.

However, after starting a mongodb container (according to logs listening on 27017) my wekan container always fails to connect to the database.

Since I’m not experienced in any of the underlying technology (I don’t even know how to verify that the database is accessable on the server) I’m very quickly at my wits end here.

What can I do for anyone here to be able to help me to set up Wekan on my server?

Thanks and cheers
goddib

@goddib

Please add details how did you try to install Wekan, with what commands etc.

Also include all error messages etc

Hey goddib! Welcome to my world. Wekan is truly great for advanced techies, but I myself have been trying to install it (with Plesk as well as sole Ubuntu 16.04 server) and haven’t succeeded. Won’t say I have no idea whatsoever on how to do things, but no tutorial has helped me so far (trying for several months now, from time to time). I’m sure Wekan would be spread much more, if the installation process wouldn’t be so tricky. Great idea! Great programmers! But more for proficient users. I will keep trying to install it a bit more, until frustration factor will reach certain level… Please developers, consider the not so proficient user and your (great) software will reach much more people…

installation using the snap package is pretty simple (and if you are on ubuntu 1604 available by default)

sudo snap install wekan

serves wekan on the ip address of your server using port 8080

Thank you vrms for you reply. Tried that too.
First, snap isn’t installed by default on my vserver’s Ubuntu server version. Had to install snapd. And then: